Things I don’t understand

Okay. So I just logged on and there is this message from the BlogTeam: the site is ‘under attack’, we are ‘getting hammered’ and experiencing a ‘site hack attempt’. Oh God. Is this the end? (Of course not-. BlogTeam JUST SAID that we are ‘getting there’) Are we out of the woods? Are these words designed to calm our crackling nerves?

It sounds like a war, and, like all wars, it sounds completely unnecessary, except that in this case the stakes seem quite mysterious. No borders are being contested, no oil, no other scarce resources, no sovereignty-. Here is innocent old Blogmark, a simple fellow, really, in anybody’s estimation, full of the fears, joys and the isolated, vague flashes of genius of the ordinary man, taking a lovely walk in the park on a sunny day and then suddenly-. BAM!!! WAR!!! RATATATATATA!!!! Ugh- (Sound of Blogmark hitting the ground, blood spewing from a thousand orifices in his skinny, pale corpse). And then- silence. Today the paint splotches on the masthead look like bullet holes.

Why? Why? Why?

What has he ever done other than provide a platform for the both the dull and the scintillating alike to disgorge their prose and poetry and Individual Point of View on the similar folk who care to read all that crap? Who could possibly hate him for this? It is a noble task, surpassed only, I believe, by the little old ladies who harbour thousands of stray cats only to be eaten by their charges when the old ladies die alone after slipping on some cat piss and cracking their skulls on the stoep.

I got my cell phone six years after everybody else, I learned to e-mail even later, and it was big moment for me when I sent my first attachment. Even now posting a link on the Blogmark is a mystery to me- My name is George Eliot and I am a technopeasant.

And I find this brutal onslaught on the poor Blogmark completely puzzling. Who could possibly gain from its demise? Even if JT and Andreas have taken someone’s ego to the cleaners, it is easier, surely, to just seek out a different corner in Cyberspace. Or fight back, for Pete’s sake. Fight where everybody can comment from the side. Mandy? Are you there? (What ever happened to her, so by the way?)

Attackers- hackers-. What information could they possibly want from the Blogmark? Evidence of how many bad writers can boast of a degree in English or Journalism? There must, ultimately, be little to fear from these foes because they are clearly demented.

I am beginning to feel the same about the Checkers workers striking now for the 3rd or 4th week in a row. They seem to rotate the city, because they don’t do the Rissik/President Street intersection every day. But every now and then one notices a small band bobbing along the pavements, toyi-toying hurriedly towards a greater mass somewhere in some square. With flags and banners and everything. Are they not bored by now? Do they rotate the shift? It is not that I am unsympathetic to their cause, I just wish there was some sign of their protest being even vaguely effective. Checkers is still open; we buy toilet paper there almost every day.

It is so disheartening to see the rolling mass of their first march trickle down into tiny streams. I think it was Einstein who said that a sure sign of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result. In this case, it would mean that both the union and management are insane.

It is a day filled with many things I do not understand. Well, two things, at least. Normally I would keep this to self because nobody likes a stupid whiner. (Indeed, what good is anybody who does not understand to anybody else?) But today, considering that the Blogmark is out of the woods, having survived both a hammering and a hacking attempt, I wanted to celebrate its daft but brave purpose- and say something.

26 thoughts on “Things I don’t understand

  1. Pointless indeed. Personally, I think it’s selfish too, forcing 10s of bloggers to actually work for a day or two… selfish!

    Ag, GE…if it goes down again…pop over to http://www.24.com…it‘s a bit like hanging out in the playground to get your hit, but at least it’s something*….

    —–

    *Crap, how sad am I?

  2. very wierd not having blogmark around, it was like something was missing in life, be strong blogmark we behind you.

    P.S Spammers or scammers I hope you read this FUCK OFF CAPICE.

  3. I can’t stand that Canada of Blogsites. Tried to blog there today and failed…no inspiration. The ‘mark is home, even with all the trolls and morons and fat Dworkinites…
    So, D, how’re doin’, anyway?

    PS: cool blog, Ms Eliot.

  4. I also battle…I even felt a little moment of desparation this morning when I considered life without the Mark. It’s been bad enough with all the poetesses and touchy feeliness (she says, poking herself with the same stick)…I almost feel like I found the mark in the dying days of it’s glory….that it’s mophing into a 24.com wannabe…I even dreamt that I clicked “read more” and there were hearts and curly ivy leaves…..

    But I cling to the hope that there is still life in the old blog yet. That we might find some more gun ‘n mud slingers. That other incarnations of the greats might lurk and leap in.

    Ag….

    Nice blog today, by the way. Me too.

  5. It’s unbelievable how much of a total moron you are.

    Initially I figured you were just messing around acting the idiot on purpose for whatever reason, now it’s become clear your a minute hand short of a clock.

    Here’s an idea… Run off and actually get yourself some sort of a clue. Examine your past comments on this Blog and realise “I come across as a Mr. Thicky” and try to remedy that by posting something containing a modicum of common sense. Hell, entertain us, amuse us. Do something *original*

    It will be a first for you. Not one single intelligent post has been made by yourself since you started *coff*, blogging. All we get is predictable insulting tat and fluff.

    Sadly your droll “machismo” and feeling you are witty/clever/brilliant will get in the way of anything approaching readable.

    If you do reply to this, I fully expect a typical “Mr. Thicky without a clue” post, something along the lines of “fuck you retard” or “hahah well done, very funny”

    Suprise me – heck, suprise us all, the gauntlet has been laid down.

    Insult us with a degree of intellect and wit and perhaps you will finally have a reason for blogging here.

    One final thing, if you think for one minute that I’m the only one who thinks you are “Mr. Thicky”, well, keep up the delusion!

  6. Miss Evans still writes a great blog, but I’ll bet it’s not the only place she does.

    Blogmark really has hit a bit of a low, but it’s all to do with us. Dolce… you may not be an early adopter but you made a big impact when you arrived, carry on and don’t drop the flame, don’t let the onset of English winter get you down – I recommend many more quiz nights at the Black Lion as a remedy. It seems this place has been swamped with day visitors for now, but blogging is the new shoe-shopping, so we may have to choke it up and carry on. This place was never ‘pure’ blog anyway, because the comments were the key. Andreas, some serious views again man! What happened, single-man syndrome? Ran out of persona? Hey, I’m to blame as well. I don’t blog here like I should, but I never received the responses that you guys have in the past.

    Dre, you owe me a beer man. Thing is, it’s gonna have to be wine, ‘cos I’m on a bit of a diet plan, but a good Chardonay kicks a Windhoek’s ass anyday. Round the corner dude, get that Dex bloke to pull in.

  7. Yeah, Mica….I know we’ve got to bite this dreary bullet….and this place is like the smokers corner of blogland…

    …AJ rollin’ his lips round those fat Monte Cristos. You and BB and DO and Tricky Kid smoking rollies, Hanabi and Zeph are surreptitiously passing a j back and forth. Flutter and MJ are chain smokin’ Marlboros, talking their heads off. Dex bummin’ what ever he can get, preferably off Pious, who’s smoking something elegant in a long filter.

    Marco’s picking up endtjies and Petri is pretending that pack of texan filters ain’t hers.

    Then there’s Ramona, who’s smoking beedies with B_P, talking about deep shit. Sundayschild is smoking herbal ciggies (you know, the ones that smell like a spice rack, not the ones Zeph and H are smoking) and George Elliot is about to ask AJ for one of his stogies.

    And me…I’m reaching for the patches, coz I’m addicted….

    PS A nice sauv blanc is bloody nice too!

  8. I have just consumed a bottle of Allee Bleue from Stellenbosch, that kicks ass in flavour, colour and alcohol content… Sauv Blanc is daytime stuff, gimme a nice robust red at this time of night…

  9. hahaha My name is George Eliot and I am a technopeasant Funny…you are not alone though GE…I have family, PAs and secretaries in the same boat. Just dig your way out of Technopeasantville soon will you!hahaha :

  10. Then there is of course the story about the guy who did not have an e-mail address and could not get a job as cleaner at Microsoft but went on to become a multi-millionaire selling tomatoes. (You know the one?)

Leave a comment